James E. Charlton Junior Award

The James E. Charlton Junior Award was established in 1969 as an annual presentation for the best exhibit of Canadian coins displayed by a Junior member (under 18 years of age) at the R.C.N.A. Convention. As a great believer in the importance of encouraging young people to take an interest in our hobby Mr. Charlton created an award to acknowledge excellence in exhibits. The C.N.A. Executive named the award in his honour and to acknowledge his generous financial support toward this award. When the award was established a large trophy was purchased with individual plaques located at the base to record the names of the recipients. This trophy was presented to the winning junior exhibitor during the Convention awards ceremonies. The recipient would return the trophy the following year. As a convenience to recipients this practice has been replaced with an award of an individual plaque that the winner can keep.


<p><strong>The James E. Charlton Junior Award Trophy</strong></p>

The James E. Charlton Junior Award Trophy

<p><strong>Mr. Charlton</strong> congratulating <strong>Colin Caldwell</strong> (1976).</p>

Mr. Charlton congratulating Colin Caldwell (1976).

<p><strong>Mr. Charlton</strong> congratualting <strong>Kimberly Blaylock</strong> (1990)</p>

Mr. Charlton congratualting Kimberly Blaylock (1990)

Past Recipients

2019 None
2018 None
2017 None
2016 None
2015 None
2014 John Siteman
2013 Daniel Anderson
2012 Daniel Anderson
2011 Daniel Anderson
2008 John Siteman
2003 Sabrina Boyer, Kitchner ON
2002 Kevin Au
1999 Andrea Pedorin
1997 Brandon Jennings
1990 Kimberley Blaylock, Utah USA
1987 John Blaylock, Utah USA
1983 John Greenslet
1982 Ian Shaw
1981 John Greenslet, Reisterstown MD USA
1980 Claude Brouillette
1979 Gary Mcknight, Newmarket ON
1978 David Weyant, Calgary AB
1977 J. David Langlois
1976 Colin Caldwell, Peterborough ON
1975 Mark Mogen, Calgary AB
1974 Mark Mogen, Calgary AB
1973 Mark Mogen, Calgary AB
1972 Jan Nielsen, St. Catharines ON
1971 Michael Zigler
1970 Michael Zigler
1969 Sam Veffer

Top of Page